Randy Kirby – 1st Vice District Governor

The New Year is upon us, and I trust everyone has made and is trying to stick to your New Year resolutions. The need for Lions and humanitarian service is as great as ever with our economy continuing to sputter and jobs scarce. Also, cutbacks from the federal government, the state of North Carolina, and particularly NC Medicaid are impacting our local citizens. To sum up the NC Medicaid policy change: For people on Medicaid who are 20 years old and younger, the coverage is unchanged. Ages 20 and younger can get eye exams and glasses through Medicaid. Anyone 21 and over is no longer covered, so we should expect to see increasing demand on Lions Clubs to fill the gap for needing citizens. Please remember that your White Cane contributions come back to your club in the form of matching funds for eyeglasses as well as many other statewide programs.

It is also now election time and clubs should be thinking about who should be nominated for club officers for the 2012-2013 Lions year. Also, if anyone is interested in a specific district chair, please let me know. The club elections should be completed in February and PU101s should be sent to Lions International in March. Please remember to keep the district governor’s team in the loop so that we can get correct names, phone numbers and addresses into the district directory. Finally, there will be fewer district directories printed this year as the directory will be posted on the website to facilitate changes, improve access, and reduce cost.

For the In-Law jokes this month:
A very successful businessman had a meeting with his new son-in-law. “I love my daughter, and now I welcome you into the family,” said the man. “To show you how much we care for you, I’m making you a 50-50 partner in my business. All you have to do is go to the factory every day and learn the operations.”
The son-in-law interrupted, “I hate factories. I can’t stand the noise.”
“I see,” replied the father-in-law. “Well then you’ll work in the office and take charge of some of the operations.”
“I hate office work,” said the son-on-law. “I can’t stand being stuck behind a desk all day.”
“Wait a minute,” said the father-in-law. “I just made you half-owner of a moneymaking organization, but you don’t like factories and won’t work in a office. What am I going to do with you?”
“Easy,” said the young man. “Buy me out.”

Thank you for all of the wonderful work you have done over the last month. Lions make a difference in their communities and all over this world! I’m proud to be a part of it and proud to be associated with you. If you have any questions, concerns or ideas please contact me directly at:
Email: thomas_kirby@rocketmail.com Cell phone: 910-212-2066
It is my pleasure to serve our district’s humanitarian goals with you.

Randy Kirby
1st Vice District Governor

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

