LEADERSHIP OPPORTUNITY

The Lions year is quickly coming to the end and it is time to select new members into leadership positions. Now is your chance to step up and assume an officer position in your club. While in your mind there are many reasons why now is not the right time, I offer a second opinion that now is the right time. Every leader brings a new perspective into the club that only makes your club stronger and open to new ideas. I will try to respond to several of the reasons that I hear when asking members to assume a leadership role.

1. I have never done this before. That is a good reason to step up and take on a new role. Your fellow club members will not let you fail. The past president or secretary of your club will be glad to help you get started. Lions District 31F conducts officer training each year to provide you with the tools needed. Also the District leaders will assist should you need any special help.
2. I am too busy. A leadership role in your club does take some time but you all know the old adage, if you want a job done give it to a busy person. I have found that it takes 1-2 hours per week to do what is needed to lead your club forward.
3. I do not like to stand up in front of people. This is all the more reason to take on a new position. Again your fellow club members will be supportive and help you be successful. Assuming this role will instill pride and develop a greater sense of confidence in your abilities.
As the incoming 1st District Governor, I strongly urge you to become a leader in your club and make a difference for your community. I give my pledge to you that should you need any assistance throughout your year, call me and I will be glad to help in any way I can.

Vince Schimmoller
2nd VDG

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

