Keep up the great work.

It’s hard to believe how fast the year is going by. It’s also hard to believe how hard working and dedicated our members are. Day after day, month after month, year after year, you make a difference in the lives of so many and ask for nothing in return. My hat is off to you.

Now I have a request for a couple of our own. Two of our present district governors, Mike Reid and Rose Edgar are recovering from sicknesses. Please keep them and their families in your thoughts and prayers.

Coming up in November is the VIP fishing tournament at the outer banks. I hope your club will consider sponsoring a VIP or have some members attend in person. This tournament is a wonderful opportunity for us to serve our visually impaired attendees. It’s a trip that many of them look forward to all year, and we work hard to make it an incredible and very special experience for them. While I have heard the stories and seen the pictures for years now, this will be my first time in attendance, and I am looking forward to it.

This month’s article will be short as I am temporarily on active duty with the Army and simply put, I’m tired! My duty location and even the amount of time I have to serve has been changed a couple of times this year. It reminds me, like most things this year, of the Lions. Sometimes, recently many times, things just don’t seem to go the way you expect them to. This is true for so many of us. Life happens and many times it doesn’t go well. But there is something that you can always count on. If you are truly in need and have nowhere else to turn, the NC Lions are there for you. I have seen our Lions come together as a family to serve their communities in times of need and to help care for each other. I am sincerely proud to be a member of such an incredible organization.

Again, the take home message here is thanks for all you do. Thanks especially for being such a consistent force for good. Through declining membership or a difficult economy, you are there. Keep up the great work and contact me if you have any questions, concerns, or needs. I am enjoying our year of service together.

Thomas R. Kirby
910-212-2066
Thomas_kirby@rocketmail.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

